Prominent Dominicans to be Recognised in 2015 Meritorious Service Honours


Roseau, Dominica – A number of prominent individuals will be recognized for their outstanding contribution to public life at the Parade of Uniformed Groups on November 3, 2015.

At the ceremony, Meritorious Service Honours will be bestowed on fourteen (14) individuals/group.

Dominica’s Highest Award, the Dominica Award of Honour, will be bestowed on Dr. Carissa F. Etienne.

Senior Counsel Anthony Waddy Astaphan will receive the Second Highest Award, the Sisserou Award of Honour.

The third highest honour, the Meritorious Service Award, will be conferred on nine (9) individuals, namely:

Mr. Francis Emanuel in the area of Private Sector Development; Mr. Andreas “Andy” Burkard in the field of Physical Education and Sports; Mr. Akel Hanna Raffoul for Business and Tourism; Mr. Clifford Parillon in the area of Education; Mrs. Zetma Augustine Toussaint in the field of Health Management;
Mrs. Josette Maria Jno. Baptiste in the area of Early Childhood Education;
Mr. Benoit Bardouille for Sea and Airport Development; Mr. Mc Carthy Marie in the area of Music Industry; and Mr. Wilson Brumant for Agriculture.

A number of individuals are also due to receive the Services Medal of Honour, namely:
Mr. Allan John​(Community Service)
Mrs. Cylma Agnes Cuffy​(Early Childhood Education)​
First Serenade Band​(Music)

The Parade of Uniformed Groups will take place on 3rd November, 2015 starting at 8.00 a.m. at the Windsor Park Sports Stadium.


October 30, 2015